Birth Story Of The Week – Ali and Estelle

This is an amazing story of what can happen if we (dare I use this phrase…) Trust Birth and Trust women.

Gas And Air

We planned a home water birth for the birth of our first baby.  We had bought a pool which we blew up at the weekend I turned 40 weeks pregnant (10 August 2014) and felt ready for labour to commence. However a few issues presented themselves at the latter stages of my pregnancy which potentially jepoardised this which I will explain below.

The first issue was a low platelet count (140 ish) which had been noted in one of my blood tests in June (although not picked up until July).  As a result, I was being monitored by the community midwives with regular blood tests. My count was slowly decreasing as the weeks crept on towards my due date of 10 August, despite my best efforts to increase the level by eating lots of red blood cell enriching foods like cherries, beetroot, sesame oil and green vegetable ‘pond’ juices. While…

View original post 3,615 more words

Leave a Reply

